Remembering

This piece was completed yesterday.







I’m happy with it. I like the cutting away of layers to reveal what lies beneath, and I like the closely stitched areas that look like darning. I like the subtlety of all the different shades of white, and the textures of very old cloth. It’s an introductory, preliminary piece that promises much more to come, like the cover of a book I’m looking forward to reading.

I have decided to work my theme of memory with the seasons. Winter is the perfect time for introspection, reflection and preparation. I am preparing the next piece, which will honour my stitching ancestors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remembering

  1. Gunnels blog says:

    This is really nice, like it alot!Thanks for comment on my blog!

  2. Found you from Spirit Cloth and I'll be coming back often. Thank you for the great clear photos of the white piece — fantastic. Can't wait to see what else you do.

  3. Kaye Turner says:

    Thank you both – your visits and kind comments mean such a lot to me.

  4. Heather says:

    I came to visit via Jude. Such beautiful work you do. I have just started working with some of my stack of vintage textiles, and it is thrilling to see what you have been doing. For so long I couldn't bear to cut into that old cloth, but once I did it was amazingly responsive and exciting to sew with.

Comments are closed.