Very slow

The first ancestry piece – provisionally titled ‘For the Women who Stitched’ – will be very, very slow. In fact, this weekend it got so slow it went into reverse. I spent a few hours working a very inexpert stem stitch on stems and leaves, and then spent almost twice as long unpicking it. Sometimes in life, too, it takes longer to undo something than it does to do it in the first place. I then redrew the design and transferred it by stitching through tissue paper and finally found suitable colours:

The leaves and berries pattern is inspired by a blackwork coif from the 16th century. The small section you see here took a couple of hours, so there is a long way to go.

I’m working on two smaller pieces at the same time, which I’m playing around with before stitching. The first one is a photograph printed on silk, which I might quilt with some silk wadding. More on silk at a later date.

And this one is printed on organza:

I like the transparency of sheers; they have a ghostly quality that is so much like a memory. More on this one later, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Very slow

  1. arlee says:

    the second one scattered with white french knots, oh my

  2. Kaye Turner says:

    Ah, Arlee, you read my mind! That's exactly what I plan to do. It actually looked like french knots in reality, which is the reason I took the photograph.

Comments are closed.