Remembering more

The second white ‘Remembering’ is assembled and tacked ready for stitching:

The back of this one will be pieced as well. Memories are sometimes collected on unstable foundations.

Meanwhile, I have been thinking about developing T S Eliot’s ‘forgetful snow’. If that forgetful snow melted, maybe its waters would run into Lethe. Lethe is many things to many writers from the Classical World: to the Greek poet Hesiod, it was the personification of forgetfulness. In later Greek literature, it was a place of oblivion in the Underworld. In Plato’s ‘Republic’ it was a vast plain which carried the ‘river of unmindfulness’. But the one I like best is from Virgil’s ‘Aeneid’ – the waters of the River Lethe were drunk by souls about to be reincarnated so that they forgot their previous existence. We all have memories we would prefer to forget.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remembering more

  1. karen says:

    Hi Kaye. I use a thread called ''coton a broder'' it's anchor and I use no 16 (thickness)love this white work that's going on!

  2. karen says:

    me again! I actually just realised that if you mean the cutwork on the pink piece I used a thread called Petra from DMC which is similar to cotton perle but this is rare. I nearly always use the coton a broder for my cutwork. Sorry about the missinformation!!

  3. ancientcloth says:

    This is fabulous! I have learned something new and the interesting thing is I have been looking at previous lives for healing purposes. Thank you.

Comments are closed.