Forgetting

I’ve been stitching on the new Lethe piece for the last two days now. The pictures show it in its early stages, though it’s beginning to look much better now.



It might seem a little strange that I’m already exploring the issue of forgetting when I’m right at the beginning of my year on memory and the act of remembering. But the more I work on this piece, and the more I think about the mythology of the soul – drinking the waters of Lethe in order to forget the previous life – I realise how much our identity depends upon our memories. To lose our memory is to somehow lose ourself, or rather, our sense of self. To some extent, we are our memories. Our experiences become our memories, which in turn become a way of ‘placing’ ourselves in time and space, leading to self-understanding and self-knowledge. I’m only just beginning to understand this idea, but I’m intrigued by the issue of identity here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Forgetting

  1. Jacky says:

    I love these colours and shapes. I am working with some sari silks at the moment so these fabrics really appeal.Wonderful piece and story.Jacky.

  2. arlee says:

    this one seems more "grounded"–perhaps these are the lingering memories that we can't quite grab, but know are there

  3. Judy Martin says:

    Canadian writer Margaret Laurence said about memory:We remember the way we want to…what we want to…we make a choice about how we will remember.Thanks for reminding me about these things.

  4. Kaye Turner says:

    Thank you – your comments here have been very welcome and helpful, and have given me some new insights.

Comments are closed.