Nearly

Lethe is almost complete. It just needs the border – the boundary – to be stitched:

I decided on a very simple, narrow border made from the frayed edge of the backing turned over on itself.
I hope to have better photos of this after the end of the weekend. It’s still dark here most days, and it’s been too wet and/or windy to take pictures outside. In the meantime, I have a couple of small details:


I am still thinking about what I want to say about this, and I expect the words will come easier once the boundary has been secured. It has been an interesting and, at times, unsettling piece to work on, cutting and tearing away many layers and highlighting the gaps with stitches.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nearly

  1. Karen says:

    Liking the frayed edge. Layers like memories, this is such an amazing piece.

  2. karen says:

    Hi Kaye, thanks for the get well wishes. I am feeling better but still a little ''iffy''. I think it's being around all those kids at work!, Karen

  3. I absolutely LOVE your blog – thank you for sharing all your work. I'm an ex-teacher too – we seem quite similar!!

  4. Dotti says:

    I have been going in a thousand directions lately and now it is time to slow (cloth) down thanks to the influence of slow cloth artists like you!

  5. ancientcloth says:

    This piece has "warmth" and texture. Just lovely. The layers are so interesting. : )

  6. Patty says:

    So happy to be able to see your work. It's lovely to see your process as you complete thefinished fabric.

  7. Kaye Turner says:

    Thank you all for coming to visit; your kind words really made me feel special today.

Comments are closed.