Days

People say there are good days and bad days, but I’m not sure that’s true. There are just days. Some days we do good things; some days we don’t. Today was a day when I couldn’t get much right in the way of stitching. I tried to make windows of the first piece from yesterday, laying mullion bars across the green shapes. It turns out they’re not windows after all. They ended up looking more like parcels, which wasn’t at all what I intended. So I did some planning instead and came up with this template for patchwork:

It’s about 18″ square, and will be made of various white fabrics, some of which are sheer and semi-sheer. I plan to put a cotton print underneath it, which will show through some patches and not through others.
The paper template (shown before I cut it up into its 90 pieces) is freezer paper, which means that the finished piece will be the other way round. I don’t know if I explained that very well. I know what I mean.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Days

  1. ancientcloth says:

    It seems there are some days when I am being creative that just happen so easily and all the stitching I do turns out the way I expect and then there are those days when it just does'nt work the way I want it to…but, I have found that if I go with it, it works out. I think your quilt will be fascinating. I like the idea of colors peeking through : )

Comments are closed.