Completing

I’ve been balancing the beginning of the spinning experience with the completing of two pieces I started last week. The first is ‘Remembering II’ – the second in my series of white pieces made from vintage linens:

The background of this piece is very old indeed, and has a hand-worked edge, which may be crochet, or it may be needle-lace. It’s so finely worked that it’s hard to tell:

I’m enjoying working on these white pieces; they are very restful and seem to radiate peace. It’s such a pleasure and privilege to work with these wonderful old fabrics and to tease out their memories. I hope the women who spent hours and hours patiently stitching these edgings would be happy to see them in their present form.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Completing

  1. Sandra says:

    Hi Kaye,I'm glad you found my blog, so that I could find yours. I love this post about vintage cloth, and it's nice to think about the women who made these cloths. When I see embroidery at second hand markets, I always want to take it home, because I'm afraid it will be thrown away at the end of the day, and that will be such a shame. And in this way I have bought many a table cloth.I love the way in which you've used it in your cloth.

  2. westwoodlady says:

    This is exquisite – your use of these beautiful vintage cloths prolongs the life of these precious works done so long ago. We can only marvel at the skill of our ancestors and it is wonderful that they are preserved for future generations.

  3. 2smart says:

    love how this piece has progressed. That lovelt old fabric lives on as a new piece of art. Sheila

Comments are closed.