Perhaps

Today and over the weekend I’ll be working on a couple of new pieces as well as finishing the white web, which as yet has no name.
I love these lines from one of my favourite poets, e.e.cummings:

Spring is like a perhaps
Hand in a window
(carefully to
and fro moving New and
Old things, while
people stare carefully
moving a perhaps
fraction of flower here placing
an inch of air there) and
without breaking anything.

I like the idea of Spring as a perhaps hand:

I wanted the perhaps hand to be green, but I wonder if perhaps this one is too dark, so I’ve done a white one as well:

I’m not sure which one I’m going to use yet. It depends on the fractions of flowers and the inches of air.
I thought I’d also share a page of my journal, such as it is, showing the origins of this design:

I disappoint myself enormously. Many textile artists – notably Jan Beaney, Jean Littlejohn, Linda and Laura Kemshall – produce the most beautiful sketchbooks, with very detailed and delicately coloured drawings and studies. I write down a poem, get a picture in my head, do a biro thumbnail purely to make sure I don’t forget it, and then go straight to fabric. I don’t know whether this is less valid somehow. Perhaps…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Perhaps

  1. Sandra says:

    I am the same with my journals. Have even started a new one, because I also wanted to have a beautiful journal, but it ended up being a mess again.But…. we shouldn't compare ourselves to others, (mmm wise words…. difficult to do in practice) for your journal is perfect, because it is YOUR journal, and that makes it special.I love the poem and both hands.

  2. Darlene says:

    Everybody works differently. Don't be measuring yourself against other people. That's a sure way to discourage yourself. My take on it is, why spend all that time making a beautiful journal (unless having a beautiful journal is your final goal)? Seems to me that that time is better spent creating your art, and you do create some beautiful things. And THAT is extremely valid!

  3. Biro thumbnails are the best!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. Dotti says:

    Kaye, when it comes to journals…..I'm on your page! (ooops, a pun intended…am grinning and hope you are too) I use my journal purely to hold an idea a little longer than my memory can until the time comes when I can then turn the idea into a project!

  5. arlee says:

    a working sketchbook doesn't have to be a work of art in itself! as long as it inspires you, who cares if you scratch with sticks in it? any time that i have spent more effort in my workbook than on the actual art it's to be for, i lose sight of what it is i really want to be doing.

Comments are closed.