Web

Firstly, thank you for the reassurance on biros and sketchbooks. I’m feeling much better about it all.

I completed ‘Web’ today. A rather unimaginative title, but I really can’t see what else I could call it. It looks like a web, and it is… well… a web. It’s about 18″ square, hand pieced patchwork with patterned black net instead of batting:

Something really magical happens when you hold it up to a window:

I really like using different weight fabrics together like this.


This piece will be added to my new shop soon.

I like this way of piecing. Because I made the paper patches out of freezer paper, I can use them again. I’ve decided to do this again in blue. First I drew a little plan numbering the pieces, so that I know the order in which to sew them together:

For the blue one, I got out lots of scraps of similar coordinating blues:

You can see all the separate numbered paper pieces here too. I ironed the paper to the fabric scraps, wherever possible matching the size of the paper with a bit of fabric slightly bigger – I try not to waste anything. This random element is quite a lot of fun, as I don’t know where everything will end up until I piece it together. I tack and piece whenever I have a few spare minutes – usually in the evening while watching TV. I call this ‘patchwork by stealth’ as I don’t set aside special time for it; it just gets done in spare time.

Yes, I really do have to be busy all the time. It’s a curse.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Web

  1. Fabulous post. I saw the first image and thought, "Yes… but I want to see it infront of the light" and then scrolled down… DER! This is absolutely GORGEOUS, Kaye. What a magical idea to put the web netting inside. I think I would have to have a light fitted behind this one! Well done you! 🙂

  2. karen says:

    what an amazing effect you get holding this up to the window, it's lovely.

  3. Darlene says:

    I love how it looks when you hold it up to the light. My husband has commented on that effect with my quilt tops, too, if I happen to be in front of a window when I show it to him. Wish there was a way to make some of these tops into curtains, but I know the sun is the enemy of textiles!

  4. Deborah says:

    This is so beautiful!

  5. Kaye Turner says:

    Thank you all.

  6. Susan says:

    Your "Web" piece is stunning! Love it with the light shining through!

  7. Angelcat says:

    This is just stunning. I really like how you used the patterned black net

  8. This is one of the most amazing pieces I have seen. Thank you for visiting my blog. I'm going back and reading yours from the beginning.

Comments are closed.