Stitching

And more stitching:

I think I’m calling this one ‘Sleepers Awake’. I like the piece of music of the same name, and this picture makes me think of the sleeping earth waking up in the spring: dormant seeds putting out new shoots, buds on the trees, lambs in the fields. Like sleeping memories waking up again.

The trees are made from hand-dyed mulberry bark. I like the fact that the bark from a tree is being reincarnated as the graphic representation of a tree.

The sheep are made from pieces of vintage trim that was a gift from my mum:

There is more work to do on this, and every stitch is a pleasure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Stitching

  1. ancientcloth says:

    I really like what you said, "Like sleeping memories awake again." Lovely stitching : )

  2. wow this is so good – who'd have thought this is what would happen to the pieces of fabric you showed last time. Keep on sewing your seeds!!!!

  3. Karin says:

    I love how this piece is growing and changing.

  4. Lovely! What do you mean about the Mulberry bark?.. I sthe cloth dyed with Mulberry bark or are teh trees made from the bark itself? I love the quilt within a quilt, it's like a projection of the fields… seen from the air. Really nice work. you have captured very well that sense of a slow reawakening.

  5. Kayla coo says:

    Hi Kaye,Thank you so much for visiting my blog and I'm honoured to be on your side bar.Beautiful stitching,I love the vintage trim sheep.x

  6. Dotti says:

    It's easy to see why each stitch is such a pleasure. This is so pleasing to look at…it also has a "life is good" feeling about it!

  7. arlee says:

    i like the patchwork fields set on edge near the realistic trees–very outsider perspective–wonderful take on the subject.

  8. Sandra says:

    That's a beautiful thought, Kaye, using mulberry bark for the tree fabric, I really like that, and I love the embroidery on it.

  9. mayerling says:

    This is a lovely snapshot of the fields preparing for new life – your ideas are so clever. The colours are so complementary and the stitching, as always is so neat and full of variation. A beautiful piece of work!

  10. Gunnels blog says:

    oh, I really like to visit your blog and see allthing beautiful you have creating! (but I haven´t so much time at the moment so I am a very bad bloggfriend)Thank you very much for all your nice comments!

  11. HI Kaye, thanks for the explaination. Mulberry bark is mostly what's used for making tapa cloth, so I am familiar with, although not at first hand. What a great way to use it here… as trees. Logical! C.

  12. Morna says:

    Love the stitching!

  13. Joan says:

    I love your creativity it is inspiring.

Comments are closed.