Flowers

Thank you for all the kind comments after yesterday’s post.

‘Sleepers, Awake’ is almost done, apart from some ‘utility quilting’ – rows of stitching, just to hold the layers together securely. I like to do simple stitching jobs like this in the evenings. The repetitiveness is quite meditative and calming.

Today I have been working on ‘A Perhaps Hand’, having finally completed all the background quilting yesterday evening.

This piece has been quite a challenge. I thought I knew what I was going to do with this, but so far everything I’ve tried has been very wrong. A little like the poem that inspired it, I have been changing and arranging, moving a fraction of flower here and an inch of air there, and really not getting any further. I took a pastel drawing I did about three years ago and printed it on cotton and organza:

Tomorrow I’ll see how this looks, cut up into small pieces. I’m not that optimistic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flowers

  1. karen says:

    your output is phenomenal, do you ever stop? Gorgeous stitchhing!

  2. Beth says:

    Nice blog. Like your needle painting. It is fantabulous 🙂 keep up the good work. Iflorist.co.uk

  3. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks for visiting, Beth :-)Karen, no, I can't stop! Sometimes I wish I could. It probably explains why I have chronic fatigue.

  4. Sandra says:

    I think your hand cloth is beautiful, I can see that it has been a lot of work but it's certainly worth it. I love the ribbon around the hand.And I think you are going to make something beautiful of the pastel drawing, don't worry it will all work out. Just follow your intuition.XXX

Comments are closed.