Once

‘Once There Was a Flower’

The beginning of a story. The story is written, but the pictures have yet to be started. This is the first draft of the title page. I’ll do another version, slightly bigger, perhaps with raw edges to see how different it looks. This one is all needle-turned applique. I think the flower is slightly the wrong colour.


When I was young, I wanted to write and illustrate children’s books. I should have done a degree in illustration or fine art instead of the combined studies degree (art and literature) that I chose to do. At the time, I thought I was better at English than I was at art, so I majored in English in my final year and went on to do a Masters degree in literature, and, later, to teach English. I think now that I should have stuck with art.
Over the weekend I may do some more work on the springtime/blue skies piece. We have some very unpleasant weather forecast, so it will be a time to stay warm and stitch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Once

  1. I don't remember if I've commented here before, because I've just recently found several new blogs through Spirit Cloth. I did want to say that I love your work. I would like to do more of this style of quilting/stitching. Your technique seems to be a little Janet Bolton like. Do you usually use batting and quilt your pieces, or have them as stand alone stitcheries?

  2. Lovely – a glimpse of Spring when I'm just listening to a gloomy forecast!

  3. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks, Clare. And welcome, Kristin – thanks for your kind words. I tend not to use batting on this scale as it interferes too much with the hand of the fabric. I want more of a draping cloth, so sometimes I use a layer of cotton muslin in place of batting. I really like Janet Bolton's work, and yes, this is a similar technique – needle-turned applique. This is the first time I've tried it all in one piece; usually I prefer a combination of needle-turned and raw-edge applique.

  4. ancientcloth says:

    I was going to say your work reminds me of Janet Bolton too! Very cheerful and happy.Love it!

  5. arlee says:

    Kaye, i'm still collecting fabrics for you and WILL mail it as soon as the bundle is good enough :}

  6. jude says:

    i wanted to do that too, can you tell? ha!

  7. Hi Kaye,Love this flowering start. Very "spring-is-in-the-air"…we just don't know where! ;}I have a package ready for you and will mail it as soon as I can get out of here!Stay warm!

  8. Sandra says:

    This is great, it will be such a lovely book!And Kaye, the things you wrote about art school … well it's the same for me, I should have done an education in fine art too.I sent you an e-mail about the swap.

  9. Deborah says:

    I love the fabrics and your stitching!

Comments are closed.