Thirteen Moons


This is the cloth made from the fabrics from Cathy. The fabrics are hand-dyed with plants, and the colours are like nothing you can achieve with synthetic dyes.

This is a cloth about remembering. It is about love, and it is about loss. It is about the indomitable nature of time, and about the paradox that thirteen moons – twelve months – can seem simultaneously like a very long time, and also like no time at all. There are thirteen new and vintage buttons in a line across the cloth, and elsewhere there are areas of empty space. Loss is a kind of emptiness. Gradually, as time passes, the emptiness begins to be filled with memories. The full moon on the left is made by reverse applique, cutting away to reveal two layers of white muslin covered with a piece of silk organza. The cut-out circle is applied above to represent the new moon, or dark moon.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thirteen Moons

  1. Julia says:

    I love the abstract composition as it is but reading your explanation adds an extra dimension to the piece…great!

  2. Ro Bruhn says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, fabulous colours too.

  3. Karin says:

    Wonderful piece. The colours are so soft and your story brings it all together.

  4. jude says:

    i have some of those fabrics too. lovely.

  5. It's beautiful I love those colors! Makes me feel like having a moonlight and blackberry milkshake:)

  6. Wonderful story! I love to hear about the ideas behind the art.

  7. arlee says:

    Terrific start! I like the crescent around the first moon–letting light, phases and possibilities out

  8. Kaye Turner says:

    Thank you for your comments. Arlee, I had to smile at the terrific start bit – this is finished 🙂

  9. Suzanna says:

    This piece is very eye-catching…it wakes me right up and is peaceful and wise at the same time.

  10. I was just thinking, what a great flag this would make for NASA!I know you already did, but I can't find it, can you please email me your address again? Husband will be leaving our island tomorrow and could mail the package for you!!!cvbainbridge@gmail.com

  11. Deborah says:

    This piece is fabulous!

  12. Mnemosyne says:

    i'm normally not a button person but it really really works here. you do buttons beautifully.sorry bout the misspell the first time

  13. Kaye Turner says:

    Catherine, I just emailed you :-)Mnemosyne, thank you for coming to see me here and for your lovely comment. I love buttons. They symbolise so much. Everyone's granny had a button tin.

  14. julochka says:

    beautiful thoughts and a beautiful cloth! thanks for stopping by my blog (it seems to be the only way i find new blogs these days). 🙂

  15. karen says:

    you have such a prolific output! I am constantly impressed!

Comments are closed.