Leaves

I put all yesterday’s dyed fabrics in a pile this afternoon and have some idea where it’s going. I made a little sample piece:

It’s about 7″ x 2.5″ – about bookmark size.  Except I don’t really like to call it a bookmark.  I like Heike’s term ‘Reading Companion’.  Maybe I’ll call this a Leaf Keeper. I like how the word ‘leaf’ can be a part of a tree and also a page in a book – and the page in a book comes from a tree.  Nice circular semantics.  I might make some more like this. I enjoyed working in this small scale today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Leaves

  1. I love trees. I was thinking about them this week. Pear Buck in her book Dragon Seed said that in chinese philosophy the woman is the root of the tree and the man is the trunk and limbs. Without a strong root the tree will fall over. But also the tree supplies the roots with nourishment when it drops his leaves. Ultimately the tree is the one that bears the fruit. The fruit not falling far from the tree is also sooo true…but this paints another picture of why that might be so.I think the tree is a powerful life symbol.

  2. Deborah says:

    I love the textures and stitching! When I first looked at it, I had the impression of the tree swaying.

  3. deemallon says:

    "leaf keeper" MUCH better than bookmark — and I like the play on words, too… the tricky size for me is potholder size!BTW I shipped the box of fabrics for the swap today.

  4. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks, QA – that's really interesting. I haven't heard that before. Thanks, Deborah; I like the idea of the tree swaying 🙂 And thank you too, Dee. Will look out for the fabrics (box??! I'm trying to make some space here!)How I wish Blogger would allow me to reply to comments individually like Typepad does…

  5. Karin says:

    Leaf Keeper is just perfect. My first idea was fields covered with snow and a lonely tree amidst waiting for spring. (you can tell I am waiting for spring… )

  6. ancientcloth says:

    Just lovely! I like the name "leaf keeper"and the beautiful layers andstitching.(This past week I had a vividdream about a tree and its roots!)I love synchronicity!:)

Comments are closed.