Small

Thank you to all the lovely people who said very nice things about my little leaf keeper pieces. I think I’ll do a few more this week.  I find the small scale very satisfying.  In a previous life I was a miniaturist, making doll’s house items in one-twelfth scale.  Many years ago I made these:

The chair is made from bass wood, stained to look like mahogany, and is upholstered in silk.  The cushions measure 1.25″ and are needlepoint (stranded embroidery threads) on silk gauze, giving 40 stitches per inch.  The rug is also 40-count silk gauze – I think it’s about 2.5″ x 3″.

The sampler is half-cross stitch with cotton and silk embroidery thread, done on curtain lining fabric – about 63 stitches per inch.  This measures 1.25″ x 1.75″ and is framed with painted matchsticks.  I did need a magnifying glass for this one.  Never, never again.  This is probably the reason I now have to wear reading glasses.

I haven’t stitched much today because it has been gloriously spring-like, so we went out for a walk in the sunshine.  This was begun this morning:

The bone stiletto is what I use to make holes in loose-weave fabrics.  The point parts the threads without splitting them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small

  1. Wow I love the tiny cross stitch. twiggy x

  2. Sandra says:

    What an adorable chair! And all those tiny stiches! you were so right to go outside yesterday, I was busy in the house and I'm so sorry I did stay in, because tody it is snowing again, and very very cold :(XXX

Comments are closed.