Waiting again

The current state of this cloth:

‘Waiting’

It looks very different in a photograph (compared with looking at the real thing), which I find quite interesting.  Maybe waiting is all a question of perspective.  This is mostly stitched on natural linen, and it still needs a bit more colour here and there, I think, but it’s nearly done.  This is not a piece about impatience. I fully appreciate the need to wait for some things.  It’s more about the fact that hopeful waiting takes up more energy and time than one might expect.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Waiting again

  1. julochka says:

    in what way does it look different in reality than in the photo? more texture? more depth? it's interesting to consider how sending things through the lens of the camera changes them. i find it all the time, when i get the pictures on my computer, there are all sorts of things i didn't see when i took it.

  2. Kaye Turner says:

    Yes, in reality it has more texture and depth, and, strangely, more colour. It looks pale, flat and lifeless in the photo. You can feel frustration in the real thing.

  3. Mnemosyne says:

    oh i don't think it's lifeless. i think it matters most what you feel in person. i've got a few quilt tops that in photos look terribly different. i'm all about putting things down for awhile.

  4. bohemiangirl says:

    I just wanted to say yet again how brilliant your work is and also that I loved the online article about your work! ^^

  5. I agree with Mnemosyne, I don't think it looks flat and lifeless either. I think it looks absolutely fantastic! With a hint of Africa 🙂

  6. P.S thanks for your email. Mom's the word ;} The music video you commented on was by the Gypsy Kings. I have a different one now by Aerosmith, try that on for size 😉

  7. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks, all. I'm happy with the way it looks, but the photo doesn't really do it justice.

  8. Joan says:

    I love the different fabric,stitching and colour.Your work is just lovely.Thankyou.

  9. I really like the colours – in what way is it different in reality?

Comments are closed.