Done

‘Waiting’ is now complete.  After seeing the previous photos of it, I added some definition to areas that seemed to be blending into the background:

Stitch fills the space in the same way that waiting fills time.  I keep saying to myself ‘If only the house would sell, I could do [insert any creative activity]’.  I feel restricted because if I get a lot of fabric out (or paper, or paints, or any other creative endeavour) and then someone wants to come and view the house, then I have to put everything away in order for the place to look tidy.  And it’s a well known fact that a tidy house looks bigger and more appealing than an untidy one.  I feel somehow that the waiting (for the house to be sold) is not only taking up valuable energy, but is also somehow preventing me from doing what I want to do.  That probably isn’t true.  Maybe waiting alters our perception of what is and isn’t happening.  I still believe that waiting is an active verb – a full-time absorbing activity in itself.
I quite like the way the house crouches balefully in the corner of this cloth.  I do love my house, and I’ve been very happy here for many years.  But it really is time to move on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Done

  1. arlee says:

    ah, but there you are, way ahead in the foreground with a wall between you and it–it will happen. is there any way you can keep a BIG box ready to hide things in when people arrive, so that you can spread out to your heart's content when they are not around?

  2. I love it!!! I agree about tidy houses. But I would also be more incined to buy one where inspiration visited :)P.S. your package was sent yesterday… FINALLY!

  3. Kaye Turner says:

    I never noticed that, Arlee, about the arrangement of self/wall/house… It's not so much the mess, actually, it's the mental interruption I find difficult. And thank you, Catherine – look forward to seeing it 🙂

  4. Sandra says:

    I know about the fuss of keeping the house tidy for viewers. I hope you'll sell you house soon. In shamanism we would now make a cloth featuring the sell of the house and the moving to another house, in this way you'll keep the energy going. Take care!

  5. Deborah says:

    I love the textures and details! Good luck with selling your house soon! I know it is a stressful time.

Comments are closed.