Alice

I like this little monoprint that emerged last week:

It reminds me of my own childhood, and of some of the stories I enjoyed.  It also makes me think that we are all child and adult simultaneously, all our lives.  The adult I am now was present in my childhood self, and the child I was then is still with me as an adult.
I put this character – I am calling her Alice, in honour of the archetypal female adventurer of Lewis Carroll – in one of my sketchy paintings:

I used this design as the basis for a story cloth, using some of the silk from UpCycledArt:
And here’s Alice, in the corner, looking for friends to play with:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alice

  1. Ro Bruhn says:

    I love the way you've taken your sketch and then turned it into a piece of stitching, it look great.

  2. ancientcloth says:

    Cute! It is always fun to see howa piece evolves. Alice will have lots of stories to tell 🙂

  3. Karen S says:

    What a sweet piece of work. I like seeing the process from sketch to stitch.

  4. This is very nice. Love the translation into cloth. What a neat background!

Comments are closed.