Friendship

It’s been a very pleasant three-day break.  Did I rest, relax and do nothing?  Of course I didn’t.  On Thursday I began my fabric swap friendship cloth.  Some of the fabrics that my new blog friends sent me were just too precious and beautiful to add to my collection and use up in other projects.  I wanted to do something more special with them, and to find a way to honour and appreciate the fabric choices that these kind people made for me.  Also, many of the fabrics were so like the people who sent them that it was like having a photograph of a friend.  I can immediately look at one of these fabrics and think of the name of the person it came from. 
I cut out 25 10-inch squares of light calico and collaged the swap fabrics onto these bases:

This square (above) was made by Catherine, so not much work for me there!  I’ve just tacked the fabrics to the bases at this stage.  They will be stitched down more securely when I quilt the top and backing together.
Then I stitched the squares together in rows:
Completed strips before stitching together in rows
 Then I made borders from pieces of silk shirts tacked onto strips of plain calico:

This picture shows a border pinned onto one edge ready for stitching the edges together.
It probably looks as if I’ve been working non-stop on this, but really it hasn’t taken that long in terms of total hours. 
I think I’m going to hand dye the backing.  I don’t intend to use wadding (batting) in this cloth as I want it to retain the nice heavy drape it has at present.  Once it’s all sewn together, this cloth will continue to grow as I add bits of stitching to it over time.  Little precious fragments of fabric will be appliqued to it, and small motifs will be embroidered on it. The cloth and I, and our friendships, will grow together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friendship

  1. karen says:

    well it does look like you have been very busy! I love the image of the strips hanging down in layers.

  2. jude says:

    i love to build cloth like this. bits and pieces of story. some that you don't even know yet.

  3. ger says:

    This looks like a VERY fine project…

  4. Sandra says:

    This will become a very lovely quilt, Kaye. I love your idea of connecting your new blog friends.

  5. Life is frantic here… no chance for vacation time.. what is that anyway!;} Am trying desperately to keep up with all my favorite blogs and have snatched a few quiet moments and a cup of coffee this morning (am here alone.. finally ;} ) and what lovliness I find here at Stiching Life! I don't know about anyone else, but I feel touched and honored! What a fabulous idea. What a magnificent cloth! Look forward to seeing more shots of this and watching it grow alongside friendships like the one we are creating. πŸ™‚ An Easter break very well spent, I say! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ :)HugsC.

  6. Sweetpea says:

    I am in total agreement with the other posters…this is such a lovely idea. What a fine way to sew memories!

  7. ruthie says:

    beautiful, such a wonderful idea too.

Comments are closed.