The Cloth

The friendship cloth is now fully pieced (all by hand) and is pinned to its backing cloth:

It measures about 56″ square.  Each square block is just under 10″.

I’ve made a start on attaching the cloth to the backing.  The two layers are temporarily held together with quilters’ curved safety pins.  I’m not using wadding (batting) as I don’t want it to be too thick and bulky, and it has a very satisfying weight to it as it is.  I’ll show each square block as I stitch the layers together.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Cloth

  1. Quilt Rat says:

    Wow this is a good size..I will eagerly watch for more posts as your stitches grow

  2. jenny says:

    beautiful! well done xxx

  3. jude says:

    that was fast.

  4. Kaye Turner says:

    I've been working on it about a week, and piecing doesn't take long, it's just straight seams. Securing the layers and collaged pieces will take longer.

  5. ancientcloth says:

    Love the combination of fabrics!

  6. Deborah says:

    Beautiful! I'm looking forward to seeing how you quilt it.

Comments are closed.