Square 1

The central square from the Friendship Cloth, lightly quilted to the backing:

The square itself was composed by Catherine.  All I had to do was kantha-stitch the lower dark brown square to the background – and my stitches are not nearly as fine or tiny as hers!  I then made a small running/quilting stitch around the edges.  At a later date I may extend the plant stem, and I may add some additional embroidery.  I love the subtlety of the yellow on white on that inner square (above).
 Some squares will have very minimal quilting – just enough to hold the layers together.  I intend to end up with a rather elaborate patchwork ‘background’, which I can then bind to complete.  At that stage I could call it finished – it will look finished – but I will then add elements of applique and embroidery to the whole thing over a long time, possibly years.   If someone gives me a piece of fabric that I really love, I’ll stitch it to the cloth.  If a word really speaks to me at a given time, I’ll stitch that to the cloth too.   It will be an ongoing story.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Square 1

  1. maggi21 says:

    A lovely idea, just like friendships grow and develop.

  2. ancientcloth says:

    I like the idea of an "ongoing story".Nice ❤

Comments are closed.