Square 3

This will be a slow process at the rate of one square a day: there are another 22 to go.  I hope we all have the patience for it.

This is an antique doily, which was a gift from a friend, stitched to a square of my hand-dyed calico.  This one could be problematic, in that the doily is elderly and rather frail, and some of the hand-embroidered detail is coming away:

If the whole cloth is to remain durable and washable, I will need to find some way of reinforcing this area without interrupting its delicate beauty.  I know that sometimes old or damaged fabrics can become a certain statement in a piece of textile art, but it seems somehow cruel to deliberately allow it to become more distressed.  I feel as if I ought to be protecting and preserving it because without me the fabric is helpless.  I don’t know yet how best to help it. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Square 3

  1. Sandra says:

    I can understand it's tempting to use this old fabric, it's beautiful, but I don't know what you can do to protect it against wear if you wash the cloth. Perhaps stich it well against the background…Have a nice day!XXX

  2. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks, Sandra. I think you're right – maybe I just need to stitch it down as sympathetically as I can.

  3. maggi says:

    Would it spoil the effect to cover it with a piece of tulle? It probably wouldn't improve its washability but it might stop any further deterioration. You are right it is too lovely to get further distressed.

  4. Kaye Turner says:

    That's a possibility, Maggi – thanks!

Comments are closed.