Boro

In between squares, I’ve been working on this little table runner, which I finished this morning:

Inspired by the Japanese boro tradition, it’s made from retired and recycled clothing, hand-dyed and overdyed, and all hand stitched.  The memories of the fabrics themselves make this feel older than it is.  I deliberately water down my dyes to get more muted shades that have a vintage feel, and I usually dye a skein of thread at the same time so that I have coordinating threads that complement the fabrics.

The backing is part of a hand-dyed vintage linen cloth, edged with crocheted lace.  I applied small pieces of fabric to the backing and stitched rows of simple running stitch before adding patches of silk and cotton and some extra stitched detail.  I’ll be adding it to the shop later today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Boro

  1. Sandra says:

    Love to see the boro in vintage pink/red. And a good idea to dye yarn as well.XXX

  2. Deborah says:

    This is beautiful. I love the colors you achieved and the idea of dyeing some thread as well.

  3. Karen S says:

    Kaye, that is so sweet and pretty. I love the way you matched the fabrics and the lace — they compliment each other so well.

  4. maggi says:

    What a lovely piece. That colour is beautiful. What kinds of threads do you use for dyeing?

  5. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks, all :-)I've dyed lots of different threads, Maggi – perle cotton, quilting thread, silk threads, wool, crochet yarn (which is very good for embroidery) – as long as they're not synthetic, they should take the dye.

  6. Amo House says:

    That's really nice Kaye. Love the muted colour.

  7. jude says:

    beautiful.

  8. I'm going to have so mjuch cathing up to do when I finally can get back to blog following in earnest. Love the raspberry color and love the stitching! Hope you're well. HugsCatherine

  9. Mnemosyne says:

    very very pretty!

  10. Kaye Turner says:

    Thank you all for such kind and happy comments. I really enjoyed making this piece and would like to make some more like this.

  11. ancientcloth says:

    fabulous boro style! Love the fabric combination'sand colors.

Comments are closed.