Strengthening

I mentioned yesterday my concerns about the durability of the long satin stitches in the central heart.  After some thought, I did some laidwork over them to protect and cushion the motif:

Laid threads are olive green perle cotton, couched down with coton a broder – a cotton thread similar to perle, but matt rather than slightly lustrous.  I also couched an outline around the heart to contain and protect it.  I think it looks as if it belongs here now, and I’m more confident that it will endure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strengthening

  1. jude says:

    a great solution and i like the squares.

  2. maggi says:

    That is just perfect and you are so right, it just looks as though it belongs there.

  3. Quilt Rat says:

    BEAUTIFUL!!!! It is absolutely a wonderful addition.

  4. Kaye Turner says:

    thanks.. đŸ™‚

Comments are closed.