Another corner

Square 17 is the second corner, again made from four smaller squares.  I love the lines in the lower right square so I quilted around them to accentuate, and extended the lines into the neighbouring squares.  Connecting paths.

The lower left square is made from a lovely piece of silk noil laid over some hand-dyed cotton fabric.  The edge is deliciously ragged.

A meeting point.

I’ve been working on something else over the weekend but it’s not quite ready to meet the world yet.  It has a purpose, but it needs a name.  It will be a keeper, of sorts, althouth I don’t think I want to call it a keeper.  [The word ‘keep’ comes from an Old English word cepan, meaning ‘to observe’ – whence Dickens speaks of Scrooge ‘keeping’ Christmas.  I like etymology.]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another corner

  1. karen says:

    I also love the edges on the lower left square, the colour too, really rich and warm.

  2. Marion says:

    I agree with Karen – the ragged edge is so tactile.And got your comment, thanks. I'm off to do my first ten minutes now!

  3. maggi says:

    So much in such a small piece. The texture and the colour of the silk noil are gorgeous and I really like the way you have extended the lines into that beautiful piece of marbled fabric.

  4. yvette says:

    I KEEP how it goes furtherloveyvette

  5. twhIch aye says:

    that ragged edge is beautiful. and how you continue the curve across with the blue stitches is very nice.

Comments are closed.