Two Squares

Square 19: a bird from Dee on cotton furnishing fabric

And Square 20:

These fabrics came from a very well-worn skirt that belonged to a friend.  It’s very fine, gauzy Indian muslin, which I tacked down in two layers.  This is the picture (above) before I stitched on it; you might be able to see the hole towards the mid-left, which I deliberately included in the square.
Sometimes we love a thing so much we wear a hole in it.  Perhaps this hole is a memorial to the strength of love and its ability to dissolve and reveal. 

Between squares on the Friendship Cloth, I am still working on the silk cloth.  I know that it will keep and wrap treasured memories, but it remains nameless.  I may share some pictures tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Two Squares

  1. Quilt Rat says:

    This is so cool! I really have to try this…it looks like such a meditative project.Wonderful!

  2. maggi says:

    The bird is handsome. Lovely sentiments about the worn clothing.

  3. ooohhhhsquare 20EVERYTHING about itEVERY SINGLE THING ABOUT ITis just so finethank you SO much for thisvision

  4. karen says:

    I love that hole! Is this you taking it easy then??

  5. Deborah says:

    This is a beautiful piece and I also love that you included the worn fabric!

  6. Wow- I really love these two. I did something similar with a hole in the lace on the Night Tree cloth.

  7. Kaye Turner says:

    Grace, you're so lovely – thank you.Karen – yes, this is me taking it easy. Bit like you, really 😉 x

  8. kaye..i thought about this off and on through the day…and thought that it would be good to say exactlyWHAT it is that I find so compelling about thisand so…here is a try at that…it's as if you simply listenedto that skirt pieceand followed IT's voice, followedit's life….and gave it somewhere to go…?this is something that is important to me…listening to the cloth

  9. Kaye Turner says:

    Grace – yes! Thank you. This is exactly what I try to do. You articulated it so much better than I ever have.

  10. ancientcloth says:

    The skirt fabric is beautiful…lovethe worn aspect and love the bird print. Looks like "spirit birds":)

Comments are closed.