Nameless

Well, here they are, complete but still nameless.

Two little bags, made from fragments of silk applied to a thicker silk backing, all hand stitched, and made into a cylindrical vessel that can be tied up with a twisted cord.  I’ve been calling them Memory Keepers, because that’s what they are.  A safe place to put a memory.  A comforting place to keep a happy memory, or perhaps a holding place to keep a troublesome one until such time as you can look at it calmly.  Silk wraps and protects the memory in the same way that it once wrapped and protected the growing silkworm.  Maybe Memory Keepers is sufficient as a name.  Our fascination with naming things interests me.  How we like to identify things, to impose our own power over a thing by knowing its name. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Nameless

  1. Amo House says:

    I guess they will find their individual name when they find their function. Memory Keeper is a good collective one though. How big are they?

  2. maggi says:

    I am inclined to think that Memory Keepers is a fine name. There is no need to burden them with the name of the memory each contains,especially,as you say, some may hold troublesome ones. They are beautiful whatever you finally decide to call them.

  3. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks. Amo, they're about 6" tall and about 3" diameter.

  4. Ro Bruhn says:

    These are beautiful and could hold lots of little treasures along with the memories.

  5. years and years ago, not long after I got my first Tarot deck, I learned that the best thing to store them in was a piece of silk — something about protection. these vessels of yours are funky and wonderful.

  6. Do says:

    I am so glad I found your Flickr and blog. Your work inspires me very much. Thank you for sharing!

  7. jude says:

    keeper is one of my favorite concepts.

  8. karen says:

    memory keepers sounds good to me.

  9. Deb G says:

    Oh I like these so much!

  10. Deborah says:

    Gorgeous! And I love the name.

  11. twhIch aye says:

    these bags are beautiful. they remind why i want to try and sew with silk soon…

  12. arlee says:

    they are cocoons themselves, who knows what will tranform inside and emerge?

Comments are closed.