Colours

Getting back to normal.  The phrase makes ‘normal’ a place rather than a state of being.  A safe place, perhaps.  As I mentioned yesterday, the orchestra of colours:
There’s something so delicious about a paintbox, isn’t there? 

I wanted to look at some ideas for summer trees, perhaps for some more leaf keeper bookmarks, but I think there is more potential here.  I’m not sure yet what trees represent for me.  Something to do with time and steadfastness?  Recognising personal symbols can be difficult for someone who tends to think and analyse (over-analyse, in my case).   A register of personal symbolism is surely more intuitive than that.

I took 6 sheets of 7″ x 12″ watercolour paper and taped them to a board.  This is how I like to use watercolours.  I get impatient waiting for wet paint to dry, so I work on half a dozen or so at a time.  By the time I get to the sixth one, the first is dry enough to add more paint.  I work very quickly – each one takes between one and ten minutes.  I’m only aiming for an impression, a glimpse of something.  It’s just standard sketchbook stuff, I suppose; just trying out ideas.  It doesn’t matter if they’re not perfect, and none of them is particularly realistic.

I’m going to make these little pages into a sketchbook that is full of trees.  Unreal, magical trees, in strange colours.  More pictures tomorrow, perhaps.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Colours

  1. Jacky says:

    Your watercolour trees are beautiful…I love the vibrant colours and shapes. What a wonderful idea for your book.Jacky xox

  2. Ro Bruhn says:

    I love the trees, they are my favourite subject to create too.

  3. @home says:

    Love the watercolour trees, some of which remind me of ice creams as well(hope you don't mind me saying that) but it does give them a wonderfully summer feel.

  4. karen says:

    fantastic painting, I especially love the bottom picture, like little lollipops!! and I hope you are feeling better x

  5. maggi says:

    Your trees are lovely and so many of them would translate beautifully into stitched pieces.

  6. Ingrid says:

    glad you are feeling better:-)your paintings are so cheerful,love all the colours,makes me want to try out my paints,never used them……..

  7. arlee says:

    we all have a handful of stories–yours are trees, or in the trees, or of the trees–these are so refreshing in colour and mood

  8. arlee says:

    PS glad the fabrics arrived!!!!

  9. Art4Sol says:

    What fun little trees…delightful!

  10. Quilt Rat says:

    LOVE them. They are whimsical and captivating! Can't wait to see what they will morph into!

  11. Diane says:

    Your little watercolor trees are so inspiring. I love the simple shapes and bright colors. You are right they are magic trees. Diane

  12. Gorgeous! What is the brand of watercolors you are using? I haven't see such a big set before.

  13. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks, everyone.Kristin, it's a Winsor and Newton 45 half-pan set, and a Christmas present from my husband. It's a good set; the colours are very intense.

  14. Deborah says:

    Your trees are beautiful! At first I thought they were popsicles.

  15. Your trees are lovely & I'm pleased to hear someone else gets impatient waiting for paint to dry!

  16. Kaye Turner says:

    Thank you for all these observations; I really enjoyed reading your words. And all of you made me smile 🙂

  17. Lovely colours, so vibranttwiggy x

  18. jennlui says:

    hi kaye! thanks so much for your lovely comment on my blog! and thought to come and say hello! you have a beautiful place here too! love how you experiment and discover with watercolors and translate this for your stitching. it's nice to see where ideas come from… love your trees! my favorites are the simple shapes one with the gradation of colors. simple yet powerful. also love your memory keepers, such magical vessels! your works are awesome!

Comments are closed.