More colour

You can probably tell that I had the leafkeeper bookmarks in mind when I was painting these.
I made the pages into a book by stitching each folded page to the spine of a collaged paper cover: 
There are 6 signatures, each with 4 pages, so that’s 24 pages altogether.  Even I was surprised at how many there turned out to be.  You can see more pages on my ‘flickr’ page by following the link on the right hand side bar.
I’ve started to jot down some notes on some of the pages, and also added some extra marks with coloured pencils to suggest areas of stitch.
This page (above) was made by dropping colour onto a wet page.  When the paint was dry, I added some very soft coloured pencil for a bit more definition.
I have no idea where any of this is going yet.  I thought it was just bookmarks, initially, and have started to make a little piece that could function as a bookmark, but I think it might be too small.  I’ll post pictures of that tomorrow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to More colour

  1. @home says:

    Wonderful, I particularly love the last picture and the top ones that look like lollypops, not ice creams like I said yesterday! What a fantastic sketch book this is going to be!

  2. Karin says:

    Wonderful idea to put all these colourful pages together. I like your use of colour very much.

  3. Kaite says:

    such delicate work, and i've finally understood how to make comments here, thankyou for yours…k.

  4. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks, @home and Karin – and welcome, Kaite! Good to see you here.

  5. Ro Bruhn says:

    These are more gorgeous paintings, so colourful. I like the journal idea.

  6. arlee says:

    love the method of making into a sketchbook too–sometimes we overlook the simple and effective!

  7. maggi says:

    Greta to see how these are developing.

  8. Sweetpea says:

    …this is a wonderful process to watch! You are most definitely feeling better :>]]

  9. Jacky says:

    Your watercolour trees are wonderful for this little journal idea of yours … What a special book.Jacky

  10. Sandra says:

    These painting are so happy, Kate! So full of life!XX

  11. T says:

    Hi Kate, these watercolours are so bright and beautiful. Your trees are incredible. love your blog.xt

  12. Deb G says:

    Like these a lot!

  13. fiona d says:

    Your paintings are delicious – I love the colours and the life in them

  14. Victoria says:

    love seeing these, they are so delightful!!

Comments are closed.