Bound

Hand-pieced binding is now in place, hand-stitched to the edges.  I really enjoy binding quilts.  I like covering up all those raw edges that have been fraying at the sides throughout the whole process of piecing.  I like raw edges, and I like fraying edges, but binding just seems to really finish a quilt and make it complete.  It feels like tucking something up safe in a little bed.
It’s difficult to take a good photo of the whole cloth as I don’t have anywhere big enough to hang it, and then I can’t get far enough away to get all of it into the picture frame.  This is a mosaic of all the squares as they appear on the cloth:
And a picture of the cloth resting:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bound

  1. karen says:

    absolutely the most gorgeous thing, love it, love it……

  2. deanna7trees says:

    how beautiful. love the variety in the blocks.

  3. ger says:

    Ahh, this is wonderful… + it´s certainly the kind of quilt which wants + needs a tucking-up-safe-in-bed binding…!

  4. Susan says:

    beautiful! – there is such variety in the squares, yet they all look so at home with each other.

  5. Art4Sol says:

    So stunning!!!

  6. It's amazing! What a treasure for you.

  7. @home says:

    WOW, thank you for sharing this with us, it's beautiful.

  8. maggi says:

    I love the way that you have arranged it in the first photos. I really feel as though I could reach out and touch it – and I want to. You must feel so pleased now that it is finished – and yet perhaps a touch of sadness too?

  9. Sweetpea says:

    Very, very lovely…it has been so much fun watching it all come together!

  10. K..maybe you could take it foran outing? I REALLY want to seeit as a whole photograph????it is extraordinary.

  11. Barbara says:

    Looks wonderful. The binding part is so satisfying -something I always look forward to.

  12. Jacky says:

    What a wonderful cloth…so much meaning in each one of those little squares. Really lovely to see it all bound and I look forward to seeing it in its entirety when you are able to photograph it outside.Jacky xox

  13. Jennlui says:

    yes yes! i'm with grace, a picture of the whole thing!!! beautiful!!!

  14. Trudis Felt says:

    I love your work and the way you put all the pieces of fabric together!

  15. twhIch aye says:

    beautiful tones and colors… looks like it's nice and comfy too. yup i will be back too to see it go on it's outing 🙂

  16. Ingrid says:

    amazing cloth……

Comments are closed.