From the sublime…

… to the ridiculous.  After the relatively large scale of the Friendship Cloth, I found this while searching through some boxes of treasure:

This is the smallest patchwork I’ve ever done: 49 quarter-inch squares, hand-pieced, made into a cushion for my one-twelfth scale doll’s house many years ago.  And this:
Crocheted with cotton sewing thread and a minute crochet hook, also many years ago.  Finding these little treasures reminds me that I like detail.  I like to zoom in on a small area of something.  As a child I spent many happy hours with a microscope, and I enjoyed the garden most on my hands and knees examining tiny areas of plants in detail.  This is a useful thing to know.  Some artists produce vast panoramic landscapes or abstract works on a huge and impressive scale, and I very much admire this – I’m thinking in particular of Rothko – but I also understand that’s not me.  It’s taken many years to realise that that’s OK.  I can’t do everything, and it’s usually a bad idea to try to be something other than yourself.  It’s not so much the scale (or size) of the work that matters, it’s more the scale or size of the subject that is important.
Thank you very much for all your comments about the Friendship Cloth.  As Grace suggests, I’ll make an effort to take it to a place where it can be photographed in its entirety.  It will be good for it to go outside somewhere in any case, to get a bit of sunlight and wind through it, and maybe even a little bit of rain.  The cloth will rememember what it felt like to be a living plant outside in the air.  I must add, of course, that the cloth is not finished.  It is bound, and initially complete, but there is much more to come: applique, stitch, precious fragments of cloth, elements of story – all waiting to be discovered.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to From the sublime…

  1. Jacky says:

    Itsy bitsy….I love things in miniature too. All that lovely detail.The are wonderful…you must be so patient.Jacky xox

  2. @home says:

    Ohhhh, that quilt sounds so exciting, with another story to be told, I quite agree with the miniature work, I like working small as well, but it is a good challenge to work out of ones comfort zone at times, I think!

  3. Amo House says:

    I used to do iddy biddy two hairs in a paint brush type thing. The eyes can't keep up anymore!! I'm glad you unearthed them though. 🙂

  4. maggi says:

    I do admire the work done in miniature and these are beautiful. Definitely not something I like doing though so I will simply enjoy looking.

  5. Deborah says:

    Lovely details! I like working in small scale, too.

  6. OMG those miniatures are unbelievable! I like that your cloth isn't done yet, but it's usable in the meantime. I should try that sometime!

  7. Jennlui says:

    oh my! i so adore your teeny tinies! the itty bitty patchwork pillow is beyond awesome!!! xox

  8. Kaye Turner says:

    Re the patchwork and afghan – clearly I had too much time on my hands!

  9. twhIch aye says:

    oh those are so nice! what detail… i can imagine holding them in my hand. i once saw a woman who did small crochet on tv… i wanted to try it so i carved a little crochet hook out of toothpick hahahahha it worked pretty good, but i only did a little swatch…

Comments are closed.