A tree

Last week I treated myself to one of Kaylacoo’s lovely little stitched trees:
I wanted to make a cover for the little handmade ‘trees’ sketchbook and thought this would be perfect for the focal point.  The cover is made from layered wool fabrics, all hand stitched to a foundation of cotton fabric:
The yellowy-green edges fold inwards so that the book can slip into the cover.  You may have noticed that I coloured the tree trunk with a dark brown pen to make it a little more prominent against the background.
One very happy sketchbook.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A tree

  1. karen says:

    this is gorgeous!

  2. A happy sketchbook like you say, & whoever uses it too!

  3. Kayla coo says:

    I'm very flattered that you would choose one of my trees for your lovely sketch book.Thank you very much.M x

  4. Quilt Rat says:

    Absolutely beautiful…..you'll want to take it with you where ever you roam

  5. ger says:

    Not only purposefully using pieces of others which were given to you in your work, but also buy things to include them – that´s very engaging…

  6. Kaye Turner says:

    Thank you! I should add that this is the book of trees I posted 22nd and 23rd May – scroll back through posts to see contents – no longer a blank sketchbook.

  7. Judy Whaites says:

    Love the colourful rolling hills, a really gorgeous cover.

  8. twhIch aye says:

    oh so beautiful… the colors, the placement, the applique, the stitches, everythinggoing to go look for your trees.

  9. maggi says:

    Love this. With what you also have on the inside it is one beautiful sketchbook.

  10. Gina says:

    It is beautiful – a lovely combination of talent!

  11. Sweetpea says:

    A most marvelous evolution!

  12. Ingrid says:

    beautiful book,love the stitching and the colours a happy book:-)

  13. upstateLisa says:

    so beautiful! I wish I could run my fingers over it all!

Comments are closed.