Drawing reading

I’m looking forward to Jude’s online class next week about creating story cloths.  I have a reasonably good background in art and literature – I studied both at degree level – and at one time I wanted to write and illustrate children’s books.  And yet I struggle with turning abstract ideas into pictorial images.  It’s not about skill or confidence, I don’t think:  I like to think I can draw competently, though I know not brilliantly.  I don’t know where the block lies, or even whether there is one.  Maybe I don’t recognise that I’m already doing it in my own way. 

Having been thinking about stories, I’ve started to re-read Bruno Bettelheim’s The Uses of Enchantment.  I first came across this while studying for my Masters degree many years ago.  It’s about why stories are important, and how stories help us make sense of a bizarre and unpredictable world.  As I read, I like to write down any ideas that strike me as particularly significant, and I also make little drawings where the words suggest something.  At the same time I was thinking about my magical trees of many colours and thinking they ought to be part of a landscape, and that landscape should be populated by other living things.

And then without my thinking about it at all, the hare kind of jumped off the page and bounded over this field:
I don’t know if this is a story or a picture, and I don’t even know if I could explain the difference.  I’ll read and stitch and think, and maybe it will become clear.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Drawing reading

  1. ger says:

    I most of all like the dog in the first photo – that´s a wonderful direction for patchwork animals…

  2. Puddleduck says:

    A picture is worth a thousand words they say…. your hare in landscape is both picture and story! I'll be doing Jude's workshop too and am excited about starting… I'm not sure about my story though.. hopefully something will jump in like your wonderful red hare! Sandi

  3. Kaye Turner says:

    ger – oh yes. lots of plans for patchwork creatures…Sandi, look forward to seeing you there 🙂

  4. Kaite says:

    but i think your stories tell wonderful pictures … whoops…that's my fingers talking again, hahaha, i meant your pictures tell wonderful stories. see you on spiritcloth next week…k.

  5. Jacky says:

    Beautiful story unfolding here…I love your red hare. It seems we both love hares…we have quite a few about the farm. I love your cloth.Jacky xox

  6. Susan says:

    Your animals are wonderful! Looking forward to chatting with you in the workshop next week…

  7. Barbara says:

    Hi, reading your post this morning really connected for me … I used to find while painting or drawing that I had difficulty producing the abstract or fantastical images that I was looking for. My instinct was to tend towards reality (and still), if I find myself working in those mediums my work is much more realistic. Working in paint, cloth and stitch seems to have changed all that, somehow I now have permission to stray into images that are less realistic (which I like). And I have no explaination for that ~ just that now my images are so much more free. Have a great time with Jude.Take care,Barbara

  8. Sweetpea says:

    I'm so appreciative of this bit of inspiration today, Kaye…what good things are being nudged to think about! I too will be joining you, Kaite, puddleduck, in the upcoming Spirit Cloth workshop and I think we all are in for spinning some yarn around the fireside, in our own individual ways.

  9. jude says:

    well your drawings are fabulous! i think the thing about story, is that it is always happening. i like to tell it as i go, by staying in it… see y'all next week!

  10. Barbara says:

    All sorts of interesting concepts to mull over – the wishing tree in particular caught my eye.

  11. am feeling a little in somekind of limbo of the last days of cloth tocloth and the anticipation of spirit cloth beginning….has been a whirlwind for me. your animal beings are wonder full and very much You, it will beso exciting to see what we allimagine…

  12. Sandra says:

    I think your drawings are brilliant. I love these happy animals and their stories.

  13. maggi says:

    I like all the drawings but I found myself drawn to the tree of wishes page.

Comments are closed.