Silk moon

I ended up with a spare hare (that I cut out too small) and a spare moon (a practice piece) so I made a slightly smaller test cloth:

 Now I can try out ways of applying the hare and the moon without getting too precious about ruining anything.  I wanted a proper ‘storybook’ moon, something like this one, drawn as part of a design for a wall hanging:
I expected it to be a challenge to get the details of the moon embroidered effectively onto the silk, but it turned out to be surprisingly straightforward and very enjoyable:
The moon is made from Antung silk, which is quite sturdy and very smooth, and gives a lovely surface to draw and stitch on.  It has a subtle sheen and catches the light in just the right ‘moonish’ way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Silk moon

  1. Lyn says:

    I am really into hares at the moment. The moon has a jolly face though!LoveLynxxx

  2. Judy Whaites says:

    Love the moon, it has great character. Also like the fabric choices and colours of your test cloth. This will grow into a lovely piece.

  3. kaye ~ i have been thinking. looking at my extraordinary memory map, at its gauzie paths and points of magic along The Way, ithought how wonderful if maybea creature could be making this journey? maybe the hare and then maybe the first creature might accompany at some point? it would be really hard, i think, unless you made a much larger piece? ornot? but…..

  4. Kaye Turner says:

    Grace, you never know…

  5. Puddleduck says:

    Hi Kaye, You must be so happy with this little 'test piece'! I adore it…. I can imagine your drawings illustrating children's story books….xo

  6. upstateLisa says:

    beautiful moon!

  7. Kaye Turner says:

    thanks, all 🙂

Comments are closed.