Ground

A selection of cloths that will become backgrounds, pinned and ready for tacking.  The American word for tacking – basting – always makes me smile.  In the UK we baste roasting turkeys and chickens. 
These fabrics were layered quite intuitively, without thinking too much about what they will become.  Usually I have a few background cloths prepared as ‘spares’, but at the moment I haven’t any left.  I’m also preparing some layered squares, ready for piecing together at a later date.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ground

  1. @home says:

    Do you dye your own cloth?

  2. Kaye Turner says:

    Yes, @home, I have a 'dyeing day' every few months or so. I like to overdye commercial fabrics too, where possible. It doesn't always work.

  3. kaye, i like your grounds and fromknowing your work, i would thinkthis might not be too different for you? (the workshop?) and yes,we baste turkey's and chickens too..funny image, huh. id' nevereven thought about the term before.my mom taught me to tack things…and i guess to me, tacking is more single stitches here and there, basting a connecting together with a running stitch in a more complete, but temporary way? hmmmm.i was hoping the other piece might be here…or, maybe it's a surprise.and maybe i somehow missed youranswer, but is what i think you referred to as construction clothcheese cloth? and you did a beautiful job of dyeing that on the piece of yours i have…

  4. arlee says:

    funny, i've been prepping backgrounds too today–great minds think alike 🙂

  5. maggi21 says:

    Greta backgrounds. I hadn't thought of the basting of poultry – probably because I am a veggie!

  6. Kaye Turner says:

    Grace – I think you're talking about the builders' scrim, the ragged stuff on the memory map? It comes on a roll about 4" wide and is slightly stiff, but when you wet it, it goes totally limp like very fine cheesecloth and you can dye it. I have no idea what builders actually use it for. It might go under a different name in the US.Yes, the workshop is showing me -among many other, better things – the validity of my own methods, which are quite similar to Jude's.

  7. T says:

    We call it tacking here too..nice backgroundxt

  8. jude says:

    you can never have enough spares…. i think scrim is a bit too open . it catches on things, especially if you plan to use the piece. as a backing i find it not stable enough. now you have me laughing about the word basting. i think i will call it something else. ha!

  9. Kaye Turner says:

    The basting thing has ruffled a few feathers, I think – though not turkey feathers, ha. I like scrim for its openness, but I usually layer it underneath something very sheer to stabilise it a bit. Or I stitch it to within an inch of its life so it will never get away…

  10. ancientcloth says:

    lovely! Just lovely colors.I like your new format for your blog.Love your moon and moon face:)

  11. Kaye Turner says:

    Thanks, ac. I'm getting used to the new blog layout and I think I'll keep it. Now all blogger needs to do is make a 'reply to comments' feature…

Comments are closed.