Preparing an honest face

A cloth filled with sun, for the summer solstice this weekend:

The sun rays are layered between gold mesh and very sheer chiffon, with the disc of the sun on the surface.
Originally, I wanted to make it a ‘storybook’ sun, with a face, but it’s evolved a slightly different character during the construction, and I think it may not be the right thing to do on this occasion.
Maybe another time.  Thinking about faces generally, and the face we show the world, I’ve made the decision to be myself.  My name is Karen, as many of you will know by now.  I thought when I first began my online adventure that it would be somehow a good idea to keep work and life separate, and that to have a ‘business’ name would keep everything neatly in separate boxes.  But what happens when my work IS my life?  I realise that it’s impossible to separate them.  I stitch because I love cloth and thread, and this is how I want to make my living.  It is my work, my love, and my life.  If I am to work with honesty and integrity, I can only be myself.  And so, at last, I am. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Preparing an honest face

  1. @home says:

    Hi Karen, goodbye Kaye! Glad you liked my little parcel yesterday, I love the sun.

  2. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks, @home. It feels like a relief ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Karin says:

    The sun looks very promising and congratulations on your decision to be yourself in every aspect of your life.

  4. maggi21 says:

    I like the sun without the face. Thank you for being yourself, I was becoming confused. Welcome to Karen.

  5. karen says:

    welcome home Karen, from Karen!! Now I won't be confused every time I want to mail you!! Phew!!

  6. arlee says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. sweetypie says:

    karen–where is the east riding is it near scarborough or spurn head or whitby? please excuse my ignorance and I do love the sun dying to see what it comes out like

  8. Karen Turner says:

    sweetypie, Scarborough/Whitby are North Yorkshire, and the East Riding (East Yorkshire) is just below it. From about Bridlington down to the Humber, ish. Spurn Point, yes.And thanks, everyone, for the positive response ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Hi Karen, the sun is just beautiful just as it is, no face needed. It's evolving nicely :o)Hugs

  10. Sweetpea says:

    I think sometimes I might just call you *K*, if that's alright…seems it might encompass all you *are* and the parts that *were* for a bit… :>DI am a few days behind in getting started myself with the Spirit Cloth workshop (was sorta triple-booked, if that makes sense) but I have been quickly checking in over there to see what others are up to. I loved Jude's suggestion about layering behind a transparent fabric and what you've done with your sun is an exquisite example of that – this is looking wonderful….Happy stitching, Karen!

  11. jude says:

    this is HOME.

  12. Karen Turner says:

    sweetpea, 'K' is good too.Yes, this is home.

  13. Do says:

    Hi Karen,that is exactly my struggle with my blog: how professional should it be and how much of myself can I show?will people buy from me in the future when they see I make mistakes?thank you for writing ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Velma says:

    i understand this struggle. be comfortable, yet risk is where growth lies.

  15. Karen Turner says:

    Velma, exactly. That's exactly it. Thank you.

Comments are closed.