Weaving stories

I finally tried the cloth-weaving technique that Jude has so expertly made her own:

It’s a terrible photograph, I know; the light is not good here today.  So far I’m thinking ‘eclipse’, or ‘dark side of the moon’.  As a result of seeing the really excellent work produced so far in Jude’s class, I think I now realise that up to now I haven’t made story cloths.  I’m not entirely sure yet what my cloths are – picture-cloths, perhaps, or poem-cloths – but I’m pretty sure they’re not story cloths.  It’s very interesting how seeing someone else’s process can immediately illuminate something that you hadn’t recognised about your own, and that you see difference as well as similarity. The class is immensely enjoyable, and I’m learning a lot. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Weaving stories

  1. Patty says:

    And I'm learning from you as well.In fact, the experience we're having is also a story, no?Loving that moon.

  2. karen…i think i tried to say something about this in a comment there somewhere, but story cloth to me probably will never mean a literal story. and i am notgoing in that actual direction anyway. to me, placing fragmentsin relationship, stitching, and IFi ever become at all good at embroidering details (like sun rays at the moment)will "speak"of something that could be thoughtor feeling provoking to the observer. i guess what i wouldlike to do is simply capture amoment of life, not necessarily human, and leave the "story" tooccur in the viewing of this image?and….i think of many of yourpieces as stories already..??

  3. i guess i am pursuing this thought because i am curious for myself.what about Sweet Lethe? is thatnot a story? and if not, why?

  4. Suzanna says:

    These colors are very nice…there is a lot to contemplate…something beyond words…it draws me in.

  5. Cee says:

    Poems often capture the essence of something in a way that stories do not – Your Hare and Moon sampler does that…

  6. Do says:

    I can't wait to do a class by Jude.. I think your cloths áre story cloths.. There is just way more to fill in for the person that looks at it 🙂 Every image starts a story..

  7. Karen Turner says:

    Well, there's something in every comment here that speaks to me in some way; thank you. I guess it depends on how you define 'story'. It isn't a literal narrative to me either. And Grace, I guess you've got me with 'Sweet Lethe'. Yes, that one did start out as a story. Maybe it's all in the intention. I need to think about this a lot more…

  8. Sweetpea says:

    Hi *K* ~ I am learning sooo much from Jude's workshop as well, and I'm thinking up things and about things that I never have before. It is helping me immensely in my approach to both textiles AND stitching…exactly what I was needing. You have summarized it so well!LUV your moon and post another photo when your light is better as I'd really love to see the true colors…I am completely captivated by watching the process that we're all sharing…

  9. ancientcloth says:

    I think every cloth has a story to tell even if "storytelling" is not the intention…I think of the person who is stitching the cloth and in that moment what is a part of their life? Why did they choose to stitch what they are stitching?…those things are a story and somehow a part of the cloth. Does that make sense? Just a thought… : )<3p.s. love the weaving!

  10. Deborah says:

    Whatever you call them, I love them. What size is this one?

  11. i agree with the thread of ancientcloth's thinking…your leafkeepers are stories.curious how you are defining the word story in this moment..???i ask this cause i think about itmyself.also can say, you are a FINEstoryteller with your work…and because they represent anarchtypal theme, they not onlybelong to you, but to me and whoever beholds them.anytime you are tired of thisconversation, say so. smile,story on, g

  12. Yes and I really agree with Grace also – to me the story is between you and the cloth/piece you are working on and that is all that matters – it is difficult enough at times to explain why we do what we do with our creative ideas!!!

  13. Its hard to descibe that connection you can have with a cloth, story cloth, picture cloth? For me its about the working through of ideas ( i think) and it being the cloth you pick up to work out those ideas almost like a sketch book. Its your story.Ok so now have re read that and not entirely sure what I meant!

  14. jude says:

    i guess my comment was left on the class blog….so here it is.Storytelling might be a better way to think about it. Stories have been shared in every culture as a means of entertainment, education, cultural preservation and a way to communicate personal values. We are just using cloth as the medium. what if this is stitched cloth, but by giving meaning to the pieces you have used or revealing the struggle with its creation, you are telling us a story about yourself? and we are learning from that….

  15. Karen Turner says:

    It's slowly becoming clearer… Thank you for such helpful observations.

Comments are closed.