Balancing

Where there is sun, there must also be moon, reflecting light but not heat.  It is too hot here.  I like sunshine, and the sun emerging from behind the clouds really does lift the spirits, but I find heat oppressive.  I find it stifling and feel as if I can’t move freely.  I can’t stitch much when the weather is like this.
The moon you see here is from the ‘proper’ version of The Moon and the Hare.  In the sampler version, the moon and hare were facing the other way, but I prefer the new version.  I don’t know whether it’s the natural trajectory of the eye to sweep across a picture from left to right, as if reading, but the moon seems to point the way here.  This piece is stitched on an old linen cloth that I dyed.  You can see some of the hand-worked edging in this picture:

I have a lot of work in progress at present, which I quite enjoy.  I like the freedom that choice brings.  I’ve also been working many hours on a large and complex cloth, which I hope to be able to show soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Balancing

  1. Deborah says:

    This is a nice cooling piece. I'm finding it challenging to work in this heat too.

  2. Kaite says:

    yes it looks like a cool velvety night to me too. BTW, i was originally taught that the eye falls on the top left corner and then moves around the artwork…k.

  3. Barbara says:

    Hi,I love the moon (and all moons)… but yours looks cool and comfortable, just resting! and yes your eye does move that way from left to right. The very cool thing about your moon is that it keeps drawing you back to start the process again because it is so interesting!Very best wishes,Barbara

  4. Lyn says:

    the moon reminds me of those seen in old 1930's cartoons. I really like him.LoveLynxxx

  5. nocton4 says:

    gorgeous moon x

  6. I have been working on the sun , I think maybe i need a moon for contrast.

  7. ancientcloth says:

    I love this moon! I think either direction you put it is fine. There is something mysterious and magical about the moon..:)

Comments are closed.