The Hare and the Moon

This cloth is now complete, after many hours of hand stitching.  This is made from layers of fabrics, mostly sheers for the sky, on a hand-dyed vintage linen tray cloth, hand quilted and hand embroidered.  The tray cloth has a hand-worked crocheted edging, which shows signs of wear and is damaged in a couple of places.  I decided not to repair the damaged areas; I think cloth looks so much more interesting with holes.  Repairing very old cloth seems to me a little bit like an eighty-year-old having a face lift – it would look younger, but it wouldn’t look right.  This cloth seems proud of its battle scars, so I agreed to leave well alone.

The hare on this version is made from boiled wool fabric, with a space-dyed thread couched around the outline.  Much easier than the needle-turned silk from the earlier version.
I’ll be updating the shop today with this cloth and Monolith.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Hare and the Moon

  1. Kaite says:

    beautiful story cloth, a very precious piece…k.

  2. maggi says:

    A lovely piece and I like you face lift analogy.

  3. Lyn says:

    I have been interested in this throughout and it looks wonderful. Well done.LoveLynxxx

Comments are closed.