…this

It looks huge in this photo, but it’s only just over an inch or so in height and diameter.  I’ve been wanting to make a ring pincushion for a while but was concerned about sticking the pins in too far and inadvertently stabbing myself.  A cardboard disc at the base might have helped but wouldn’t have been foolproof.  I was looking at my large pincushion one day – a stuffed circle of fabric wedged into a small wicker basket – and thought a similar principle would work if only I could find a small enough ‘basket’.  And voila.  Or hey presto.  The bit that goes round your finger is elastic, so one size should fit all.  I’m going to road test this one for a while, and if it performs well, I’m thinking of making some for the shop.  Would make a nice gift for someone?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to …this

  1. Karin says:

    What a lovely idea. I like small pincushions but never had one like this.

  2. maggi says:

    Ingenious. It looks so lovely and safe too.

  3. Very nice! FYI, I've also seen them made with pop/soda bottle caps as the base. Not as fancy as yours, but very sturdy and no pin pricks!

  4. Shell says:

    very cute x

  5. Kaite says:

    very regal, great idea – better than my mouth! k.

  6. ger says:

    This looks rather desirable… – I might give it a try- if I fail, please do put some in the shop… 😉

  7. Kayla coo says:

    lovely idea.x

  8. nandas says:

    this is adorable!!! they will surely be a knockout in your shop… and thanks for stopping by my place earlier!

  9. Sweetpea says:

    Oh yes, a nice gift to me from me :>]]

  10. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks! Will make more eventually…

  11. Amo House says:

    I have the square folded in half one I wear on my finger and I have learned to put the pins in sideways!! Great idea about the top!

  12. i think it would be great for meand also as gifts…will look forthem in your shop.your embroidery in subsequentposts is amazing. i think i wouldNEVER get to that place…so veryfine.thinking of you….

Comments are closed.