Silk ribbon embroidery

Continuing with my small samples using traditional techniques, I tried some embroidery with silk ribbon.  This was popular in the eighteenth century and then had a bit of a revival in the nineteenth century.  The ribbon I used is 3mm wide, and the green is hand-dyed:

This is worked on pale gold dupion silk, with stem stitch embroidered for the stems and french knots for the flower centres.  It measures about 3″ total length.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Silk ribbon embroidery

  1. Amo House says:

    Well, you're really having fun playing with a little of everything, aren't you? lolGreat little flowers.

  2. Deborah says:

    Beautiful! I also love your ring pincushion!

  3. karen says:

    beautiful and so very delicate.

  4. Karin says:

    Lovely. I´m trying some traditional embroidery myself and really enjoy it. Never did ribbon embroidery so far – another one on my list…Did you learn all those traditional techniques or are you self tought? It all looks very precise and well planned.

  5. maggi says:

    The ribbon creates such lovely flowers.

  6. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks… Amo, having lots of fun 🙂 Karin, I'm self taught (from books) – I like to work on my own.

Comments are closed.