Tambour hook

Well, here it is:

0.6mm crochet hook on the left, ‘fine’ tambour hook on the right.  The tambour hooks come in different sizes and need to be fixed into the wooden holder by tightening the screw.  You can see (I hope) that the tambour hook has at least two advantages over the crochet hook: (1) the head is more pointed so it pierces the fabric more easily; (2) the ‘eye’ of the hook is deeper and narrower, giving a better grip on the thread.

This is the design I’m working using the hook.  Is it easier with the correct tool as opposed to improvising with a crochet hook?  So far, yes, it is.  This sample is being worked on dupion silk, which has a much tighter weave than the cotton fabric I used for the first tambour sample.  I doubt that the crochet hook would have pierced it effectively.  It’s still quite fiddly, and it takes a while to get the hang of it, but I like it very much.

Brief update: I should have mentioned that I got my tambour hooks from here – although you will need to check on the availability of the wooden hook holder as I believe they are difficult to source.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tambour hook

  1. Shell says:

    Thank you! I had some of these hooks gifted to me but didn't know what they were exactly. I'll have to research more now to see how it's done. :o)

  2. Jacky says:

    I look forward to seeing this design done with the new hook…thanks for showing us the tambour hook.

  3. Thanks to you I was able to give a little description on tambour work to a customer at the market yesterday…she bought the piece to turn into a pillow (wished I had taken a photo). I also had a very similar wee hook included in a cheap mending kit…I thought it was for picking up dropped knitted stitches, I'll send a pic when I find it.

  4. Barbara says:

    Really interesting to see the difference between the tools – I had always thought a fine crochet hook would suffice.

  5. Karen Turner says:

    Yes, I was really interested to see the difference too. The tambour hook is easier to work with, although the crochet hook probably would 'do' provided you work on fairly coarse fabric.

  6. Deborah says:

    Interesting. I did not know about this tool.

  7. Do says:

    Could you please tell me where I can find a tambour needle? (or where I can search for one?) This might be a great revelation for me..

  8. Karen Turner says:

    I added a link in the blog post for you, Do. Hope this is helpful.

Comments are closed.