More tambour work

The second sample, this time with the correct tool.  It really does make a difference, much easier to work:

This sample (the stitched area) measures about 4″ x 6″.  I think I might make it into some sort of wallet or cover to keep the hooks and holder in.  The hooks are really tiny and could easily get lost or broken if not protected.

The flower is worked in Stef Francis six-ply cotton and Oliver Twists hand-quilting thread; the leaves in Oliver Twists space-dyed green quilting thread.  It’s about the same thickness (maybe slightly finer) than standard buttonhole or top-stitching thread.  I filled in the leaf outlines with simple embroidery stitches.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More tambour work

  1. nocton4 says:

    I love this, great colours, very elegant xx

  2. Jacky says:

    Love this….I am going to have to look out for one of these hooks. Great effect isnt it?Jacky xox

  3. maggi says:

    Lovely and what a good idea to use it for the safekeeping of your hooks.

  4. karen says:

    it just occured to me with you mentioning oliver twists and stef francis…do you go to the k&s at harrogate? maybe we could meet up….

  5. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks – I like the effect too. Karen, you guessed my thread source correctly! Yes, I go to Harrogate K&S whenever I can, and yes, it would be good to meet up 🙂

  6. Barbara says:

    Hi,I have just getting caught up with your blog and your posts … it was great to get away but now so good to get home and back to my routine and some of the now familiar places on the internet. Your work has been beautiful since I have been gone.Very best wishes,Barbara

  7. Beautiful Work! Also, I wanted to tell you that I just linked this post on one of my blog posts–http://christinebyhand.blogspot.com/2010/08/traditional-suzani-chain-stitches-using.html. =)

Comments are closed.