Back to work

Time to test out my new improved workspace.  I’ve recently finished hand stitching a large and complex cloth book, and found it to be a very enjoyable process.  I’m now thinking about making some smaller cloth books in a series I might call ‘the cloth book of…’  Having so recently seen and handled everything in my collection, I thought it would be good to share some of my more ‘precious’ treasures by making them into something that someone else could treasure.  First in the series will be my cloth book of old lace:

Still very much in progress, but this will consist of ten or so little pieces of very old lace – mostly Victorian – stitched to black silk pages.  I plan to make two of these.  Then I plan to make a cloth book of old silk with some of the antique silk pieces I acquired last month:
And then there might be cloth books of patchwork, cloth books of boro, cloth books of trees…  One thing at a time, though.  If only the fingers could keep up with the mind!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Back to work

  1. Lyn says:

    What a lovely idea. Look forward to seeing the end result.LoveLynxxx

  2. kaite says:

    and that's the problem, if only…but it's good to have a plan…k.

  3. yes! cloth books of cloth booksi really like these ideas andreally like the energy…also enjoyed your make over…

  4. Judy Whaites says:

    What a great idea, keeping the memory of the cloths alive.

  5. What a wonderful idea putting these treasures into books – that way you will pick them up and view them more often than if they were in a cupboard or stashed. You will enjoy this wonderful work!

  6. crafts@home says:

    What a lovely saying… 'If only the fingers could keep up with the mind'

  7. nandas says:

    i'm so glad you are doing this… and it is a perfect project to test out your new space…. i look forward to seeing the results.

Comments are closed.