The Sketchbook Project – getting started

I’ve looked at this little book ever since it arrived and from the start was unhappy with the quality of the paper.  I’m guessing this type of Moleskine is more for writers than artists, as it is filled with plain paper that is similar to standard copy paper that you might put in your printer – about 80gsm.  OK for drawing on, but I was very dubious about using any wet media.  I know I could have glued pages together, or glued extra paper over the pages, but then the book would have become too thick to close comfortably.  I decided in the end to take out the original paper and rebind it with my own.  I carefully cut the cover and added in an extra piece for the spine, so the front and back are the original covers.  The rules state that it’s OK to do that, provided the book remains the same size from the front.

And I’m much happier with this.
I rounded the corners to retain the feel of the original.  My theme is Night time Stories, which to me primarily suggests dreams – the stories that come to us during the night while we sleep.  I think my sketch book will be about where these stories might come from.  The title page is well under way, and possibly even finished:
The moon is a metal embellishment with hand-dyed tissuetex pasted over it, and the title is embossed metal, similarly glued to the page and covered with tissuetex (this is very strong tissue paper, and behaves almost like a sheer fabric when you glue it to something).  It will be interesting to work so much on paper for this project.  I think I might find myself wanting to see how some of the pages might look in cloth and stitch though.  Maybe I’ll make two versions: one in paper for the tour, and one in cloth for my own record…
This entry was posted in sketchbook project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Sketchbook Project – getting started

  1. Lyn says:

    Looking good, can't wait to see what you do inside.loveLynxxx

  2. I use gesso in mine and collage which is grear but I have rececntly bought a Seawhite sketchbook which is sooooo much better.

  3. Karen Turner says:

    Clare, yes I like Seawhite too. And I use a lot of gesso!

  4. Karen S says:

    Kaye — that's beautiful!

  5. arlee says:

    mmmmmmmmmmm lovely perfect perfectly lovely start

  6. nandas says:

    there are several types of gesso. i just discovered gold gesso! i want to do that journal project too but i have to wait for awhile. i hope it is still going on in oct.

  7. Karen Turner says:

    I think the deadline for signing up is October, nandas, but I'm not sure what date exactly. Hoping you have enough time to sign up 🙂

  8. Deborah says:

    Beautiful. I love the idea of rounding the pages.

  9. I love your bookmaking notes!!I recently made my 'first ever' handmade book, and I can see that it might be addictive!!Here's the post if you're interested…http://woollove-functional-fiberart.blogspot.com/2010/09/wrapped-feltbook-and-fused-glass.html

  10. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks for your visit, Heather

Comments are closed.