The Sketchbook Project (3)

This book will be one continuous story, I think.  This is the second double page spread; acrylics and gesso over ordnance survey map.  The Mona Lisa stencil is something I made a few years ago. 
I’m thinking quite a lot at present, mostly about the changing of the season, and how autumn approaches on tiptoe very quietly so that you don’t really notice at first, and about how autumn is the consolidation of the summer’s growth, about harvesting and gathering.  I will be doing some consolidating of my own shortly, some gathering and harvesting.  More details on that soon.

This entry was posted in sketchbook project and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Sketchbook Project (3)

  1. Trudis Felt says:

    It is amazing what you are doing with this book! I'm looking forward to your other pages.Wow, Trudis

  2. jude says:

    is that a version of the mona lisa?

  3. Deborah says:

    it's fun to watch your process

  4. maggi says:

    Your pages are so atmospheric. I like what you have done with the binding. Mine was taken apart a while ago but has yet to be put back together again.

  5. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks… Jude, it's a stencil I made a while ago, based on the Mona Lisa.

  6. nandas says:

    not only do you stitch, you paint! i love this and will be looking forward to the story you tell. thanks!

  7. Mnemosyne says:

    you do really beautiful work!

  8. Dotti says:

    Great start Karen! It has already drawn me in!

  9. Liz says:

    I like, but I will like the fabric version better!Your link to flickr has disappeared – was that intententional?regardsLiz

  10. Karen Turner says:

    'Alas, poor flickr…' Liz, thanks for stopping by. I need to retreat a little so I'm afraid my flickr account is no more.

Comments are closed.