Becoming less

As I mentioned yesterday, I am making a few changes to my online activity.  I think for now it will be good to be in fewer places, to consolidate and harvest, like the season.  I feel as if I am spreading myself a little too thin, trying to be in too many places at once, and at present I haven’t the energy to keep up with everything.  I have decided to delete my flickr account, for the time being.  I may create a new flickr account at some point next year, but for now I want to draw in a little and concentrate much more on making.  Managing online sites takes time, and administration time is valuable stitching time – and also valuable thinking time.  Posting the same photo in two different places (the blog and flickr) seems a bit inefficient.

From next week, the shop will revert to the free version, which means that I will only have room for five items at a time.  In the meantime, I have reduced the price of a few things that have been sitting there for a while in the hope that they will find new homes.  The inevitable result of shrinking the shop is that I will be selling less work and selling less frequently, again to concentrate more on making, and on developing ideas.  I find myself increasingly making ‘for the shop’ – producing- rather than making so that I can try new ideas and follow thoughts.  I’m also concerned that my blog is in danger of becoming too much ‘look, I made this, now buy it’ rather than the place I originally intended it to be – a kind of window on my world, bearing witness to the process of my work. 

For the time being, I intend to keep the facebook page – I think.  So now, here I am.  I am here and on facebook, and for now, I think that is enough.  Let’s see what fruit I can harvest from my smaller space.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Becoming less

  1. Sweetpea says:

    Completely utterly totally understandable. You have a good *window* K, always a joy to stop by here and learn about your process…

  2. Jenevieve says:

    That makes sense, I din't realise how much time bloggin takes up until I recently started my own blog. I can imagine that having several other online things to look after would eat into your maing, thinking and creative time. I love your blog and look forward to seeing the new things you make! 🙂 x

  3. Jacky says:

    It's nice to simplify sometimes. I look forward to seeing what you are working on via your blog.I only have my blog (no facebook, no etsy, no flickr) and I still find it difficult sometimes, so obviously a lot of work keeping these sites up.Take care and enjoy your art.Jacky xox

  4. Liz says:

    I fully understand – but I can't help wishing that i had had a more detailed look at some of your fabric books now that I am on the way to making my own ( sad face)!!regards Liz

  5. Karen Turner says:

    Sorry, Liz! Maybe I could do a post some time about some of the books I've made in the past.

  6. kaite says:

    a sensible idea…k.

  7. Chris Gray says:

    I understand completely!…been thinking of closing my Flickr too…I can't seem to get around to doing all I would like during the time I have available…and certainly don't visit as many blogsites as I used to…too much going on….Time Thief won't go away 😦

  8. arlee says:

    "Gather ye flowers while you may"—good plan—i spread, then thin, then spread again 🙂

  9. Patty says:

    It's like the seasons, I think. We have to knowwhen it's time to draw in again and concentrate on the making.I always feel sad when I see a talented person get stuck in the making of what "will sell". Well said, you!

  10. karen, you are very thoughtfullymoving the thread to a very fineline. i appreciate this post alot. it's that old issue ofselling at all, selling some,that i think has no real singleanswer. but just to say that ithink your shop has never had a"buy this" energy and i live veryhappily with the art i have of yours…am so glad that you madethis possible.and it is also true as Patty saysit's seasons. and they cycle around so i am looking forward toa bloom in the future, when it istime.and just to say, i'd like the cardsto continue……was just aboutready for some….

  11. ger says:

    Sounds like a good plan… I know exactly what you´re talking about -I like flickr, though + often use it for a quick hello + comment, needing less time for that there than on the blogs – but wouldn´t ever touch facebook…

  12. jude says:

    i agree. you'll see soon.

  13. Barbara says:

    Hi,I read your post earlier today and thought to myself … how very wise. It is difficult not to get caught in having too many "things to do" and "to tend to" … a smaller space is sometimes more fruitful than a large out of hand space.Very best wishes,Barbara

  14. Karen Turner says:

    Thank you all for your support on this issue.

Comments are closed.