More old silk…

I’m delighted to have sent my precious treasures to two new homes this morning (thank you both), and I know that the fabrics will be cherished. 
I added some old silk to the cloth:

The three cream silk hexagons are hand woven, and so old that they are slightly brittle, but I’m hoping that they feel safe enough here to live again.

And, at last, I got round to adding this to the cloth as well, which was a gift from Sue a while ago.  Sue, you must forgive me for taking so long, but it’s found a new home eventually:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More old silk…

  1. kaite says:

    the hexagons look beautiful set in the cloth like that, such a feature, i had to catch my breath. I do like the way you've done the edging too, is that one of the stitches that jude taught us? it looks similar…k.

  2. crafts@home says:

    How wonderful, I feel completely honoured to have a little bit of my work on the cloth, along with the hexagons and all the rest πŸ™‚

  3. Patty says:

    Wow, those old silks look new again!

  4. karen says:

    this is so beautiful Karen…..

  5. Karen Turner says:

    Thank you πŸ™‚ (Sue, I'm working on using some of your lovely hand-dyed cloth, too – hope to add that over the next few days)Kaite, the outline is a two-ply hand-dyed silk yarn that is couched around the edge with black silk thread. I often use couching to outline shapes.

  6. deanna7trees says:

    beautiful hexagons and the stitching around.

  7. You have made that old silk look gorgeous.

  8. delightful…wish I could gently touch and feel.

Comments are closed.