Translucence

Trans [Latin: ‘across’]; lucere [Latin: ‘to shine’]; allowing light to pass through diffusely.

Too fragile, though, to keep it like this, so it will live comfortably on a soft layered cloth.

The backing is a very old, soft linen, and I will probably leave the edges as they are: softly torn.  You can still see through the lace/chiffon patchwork, but only if you get very close.  That’s one of my favourite qualities of stitched cloth.  Often the cloth looks very different depending on your view point: close up or far away, you tend to see not only different elements, but also other qualities.

This one has little windows – gaps you can see through, behind.  Patchwork, to me, is always about piecing something together: the past, a mystery, a history.  Because the past exists in another time and place, you can’t always know everything about it, and the gaps are inevitable.  Sometimes the gaps are more interesting than the surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Translucence

  1. kaite says:

    oh yes, that appeals to me, i love the mix of old cloth, old lace and the colours. k.

  2. Marti says:

    Looking into gaps, glimpses of the past, move away and the gaps look like possibilities for the future. Ethereal yet solid.

  3. Karen Turner says:

    Thank you both. Marti, I think this might be my direction for next year – gaps and holes, glimpses of something 'between'.

  4. deanna7trees says:

    turning out beautifully. somewhat like pojagi (korean patchwork)where you can see through the fabric.

  5. karen says:

    lovely……

  6. Marti says:

    This comment is not about translucence but it is about a lovely handmade bit of magic. I have just received a wonderful birthday/equinox gift from my dear friend grace of windthreads blog, one of Karen's astonishing crown ring pin cushions. I think there is a photo of my exact pin cushion on the left hand corner of your blog Karen, the section titled, "My Work Is Available Here." It is the one at the top, the taupe colored one on the left. I love the colors, softly hued with bits of yellow, and shades of purple, a bit of mulberry all stitched with purple thread and a translucent purple bead. (Knew there was a way to work that word in!) The cloth band that surrounds the base is a delicate print that takes me out to an English meadow. Such a tiny gift, so large in impact and joy. Just wanted all to know that the pin cushions that you make Karen are absolute treasures.

  7. Sweetpea says:

    Oh my, this is transcending to a fine place…the top photo {{{glows}}} on my monitor, very ethereal that effect coming from layering…Back from a few days away – heading to post office in a bit :>]]

  8. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks, Deanna & Karen; hope for good news, Sweetpea ;-)Marti, thank you so much for your lovely words. You really made my day!

  9. maggi says:

    The layering of the fragile fabrics is beautiful.

  10. i want to say too that it waswith great happiness that i wasable to send Marti that gift…all perfect, felt just right.

Comments are closed.