Witnessing time

This one is nearly finished.  I just have to secure the edge, which is just the backing folded over to the front.

The flowers and leaves are applied; the berries are embroidered.  The stems are hollow ribbon couched down.  This swirly leaf/floral design was very popular in the seventeenth century, where the repeated design would have been entirely embroidered (with wool, in most cases, on linen) over the whole surface of a garment or hanging. 
Using the lace as background means that it carries and holds the stitches, and becomes somehow stronger than it first appeared.  It becomes the witness of time passing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Witnessing time

  1. Deborah says:

    I'm enjoying seeing what you've been doing with those wonderful bits of fiber and lace you showed us earlier. This is a lovely and creative piece. How large is it?

  2. Karen Turner says:

    Thanks, Deborah. It's about 12" x 14"

  3. kaite says:

    The vine is such a strong metaphor for time too. It's looking beautiful. kaite

  4. Sweetpea says:

    I keep looking at those two reddish vertical lines…this piece would not be the same without them. May I ask (if you can say) what their meaning is to you, K? they fascinate me…This piece of old lace is certainly resting comfortably :>]]

  5. beautiful, Karen. This piece went in an entirely different direction than I first imagined.

  6. Suzanna says:

    It must be so nice to touch and hold…

  7. Karen Turner says:

    Kaite, thank youSweetpea, I emailed you :-)Fabrique, I was surprised too!Suzanna, yes, it feels very gentle.Oh how I wish blogger would allow a 'reply to comments' feature.

  8. Maybe its the season but looking at the lace it looks like cobwebs caught with the dew in the morning. The flowers have a hint of those chinese lanterns about it aswell. Lovely

  9. Karen Turner says:

    THM, you're right, it really is that fragile – it reminds me of dewy cobwebs too. I see what you mean about the flowers – I hadn't thought of that!

  10. the lace is like a dream

  11. Ahhhhh! That's what I was hoping for a full view! It's beautiful! I love the historical element that"s been figuring in your work since I've been away. Was it difficult to work over the lace? I'll email you over the weekend.Catherine

Comments are closed.